Past January Firsts

As today is January 1st, I thought that it might be a little interesting to see how I decided to spend  the past couple of years celebrating the first day of a new year through the reading of previous journal and planner entries. Although some of these are pretty fitting for the day and can have some powerful meanings behind them, I think more of them just provide a great laugh. I hope you enjoy!


 

January 1, 2011: (8th grade)

It’s the first day of 2011!! Yay!! I have a feeling it’s going to be a great year :). Life is pretty good right now especially since I’m getting out of my weird mood thing where I never want to see anyone – thank goodness. I’ve never been so relieved…I thought I was going to be a loner and it would become one of my permanent traits. I welcome the New Year of 2011! 🙂


 

January 1, 2013 (sophomore year, high school)

20160101_185810-2-1


 

January 1, 2014 (junior year, high school)

20160101_190719-1

The Verdict

I have finally decided about this whole dual-notebook indecision! I’m not even completely sure what indecision means, but it sounds like it would be appropriate in that sentence! As the title reveals, I have decided to combine my writing journal with this one. I figured that the line between what would go in each notebook was a little blurry, so might as well combine them. I think (and hope) that this is a good decision.

As you can see from the previous page, the combination has started. I think it looks good!  I love making my journal look all artsy and fancy and stuff. You can also tell that I’m going to be writing dictionary words, phrases, or whatever else that appeals to me. I might even do some French words or something. That’s the great part about writing a personal journey, you get to make your own rules and change them as you go.

Quote

“So, this is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I’m still trying to figure out how that could be.”

The Perks of Being a Wallflower


 

January 1, 2015: (senior year, high school)

20160101_185826-1-1

Hello, 2015

As my first entry of 2015, I want to acknowledge how entirely lucky I am. I have the most amazing friends who care more about me than I could ever deserve. I have wonderful parents who are so supportive and willing to give away everything for me. I am lucky enough to be happy with who I am and comfortable enough to cling to both my best qualities and my faults. Although I do not know where this crazy year will take me, I am so lucky to be experiencing it will the most amazing people.


 

And now I get to say hello to 2016. I’m so happy I started blogging this past year and I hope it lasts through this next one. Thank you to everyone who reads my blog, whether you have read every one or this is your first. I hope this year is a great one!

 

Leave a Reply

