Worn Out Introductions

“Things change. And friends leave. Life doesn’t stop for anybody.”

-Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

I’m used to running into the same people everyday. I can count on the same people to make me irresponsibly laugh in a moment of weakness and lie my head on the same people’s shoulders when I get too tired to hold up my own. It’s nice to have that kind of accountability in people.

Well, that’s how it used to be. Now I wonder around and pass faces of people not knowing if I’ve seen them before or not. That’s the sad thing about this chronically changing environment that I’m placed in right now; the people that I want to stay in my life don’t always get to.

Now I can count on walking and seeing unrecognizable faces. I suppose there is a positive to this – if you fall, there’s no one there to watch and remember. But it’s mainly a sad thing. I have met so many great people that I am now happy to call my friends, but I don’t know if they’re going to get to stay. Now, things change so fast that I feel like you sometimes lose friends before you even know you made them. There are a lot of new beginnings here in college.

Leave a Reply

