The Hardness of a Dictionary

Today I am challenged to try something new in my blog for my “ideal” audience member. In response to this, I initially didn’t know what to do. I started thinking about including video or writing about something I never have before. I started to question what I haven’t done and if, maybe, I should do that. It’s harder than you think.

However, I did finally decide on something. Today, I am going to discuss some of my favorite words and what they mean to me. It’s something I’m comfortable with, but it is slightly different. I’m accustomed to discussing things that are more fluid, such as thoughts or feelings. But today I am embarking on the journey of not doing that. I’m talking about words; something in the dictionary that can be used at anyone’s disposal. Something more concrete.

  1. Eloquent: having or exercising the power of fluent, forceful, and appropriate speech.

This is one of my favorite words, if not my favorite word. I love the way it looks, sounds, and if it had a smell and taste, I would probably like those, too. To me, it stands for something I strive to be – especially in my writing. I strive to have eloquence.

2. Nostalgia: a wistful desire to return in thought or in fact to a former time in one’s life, to one’s home or homeland, or to one’s family and friends; a sentimental yearning for the happiness or a former place or time.

This is something I experience all of the time. I have nostalgia when I look at my favorite book and yearn for the time I was reading it for the first time. I look at pictures of younger days and wish for those gentler times. I am constantly looking to the past for a hope for the future and with this I experience plenty of nostalgia. The sound of this word isn’t too bad either.

3. Serendipity: an aptitude for making desirable discoveries by accident.

This sure is a fun word to say! And, I have to say, who wouldn’t want to experience some serendipity in their lifetime? Discovering something that you want by accident? That sounds pretty good to me. And, what’s even better, is there is a word for it.

4. Superfluous: being more than is sufficient or required; excessive.

I use this word entirely too much in writings and papers. It’s one of those word that, once given the definition, you immediately understand. It just sounds like what it means, if that is really even possible.

5. Eccentric: deviating from the recognized or customary character, practice etc.; irregular; erratic; peculiar; odd.

This is a word I feel like I just don’t use enough. A word for being all of the place and deviant. I feel like there are far too many things that can be described using this word than the frequency at which I use it. For example, my taste in clothing. I would certainly describe it as eccentric. I like things that are unique – sometimes (irregular) – and sometimes I just can’t tell the difference between ugly and interesting (peculiar). I mean, who else picks out some clothing items because they’re just too unique (sometimes in a bad way) to pass up? It’s a mix between clothing items that are just too cheap and ones that are just too expensive.

Although I’m sure I could pick out a few more words to add to this list, but then it would just be too superfluous. I told you I use that word too much.

2 thoughts on “The Hardness of a Dictionary

Leave a Reply

