A Firm Handshake

Hello, daily dosers! Today is the first day of Blogging 101 in which the first task is to “introduce yourself to the world.” So that’s what I’m going to do today.

If you are new to my blog or even an old follower, I started this blog about two months ago in the hopes of trying something new. I’ve always been curious and slightly wide-eyed over the thought of a blog: other people publicly reading what you write. All of my writing has always been in the comfort of privacy ranting about the inconveniences that accompany us throughout our lifetime. Now, I’ve learned to not only write about these inconveniences, but also the lessons that come with them.

I struggled for a time trying to figure out exactly what I wanted to blog about. For a while I played around with books – the things that occupy my bookshelf and I spend way more time admiring than actually reading. I contemplated the idea of fashion and lifestyle, showcasing the outfits that I sometimes take way too long to put together. However, I realized that none of these topics for a blog would really work for me. They were all too limiting. I wanted to write about what I deal with in my everyday life – everything – and write in the way that I know best – about life. I absolutely adore turning an everyday update about the events going on in my life into a post about how that connects to this world as a whole. That’s what I write about. I write about life.

In terms of what I hope to accomplish from this blog, I more than anything hope to accomplish a greater strength in writing and a greater confidence in what I write. I also have a little dream in the back of my head awaiting for the time that, maybe, someone with some sort of power will notice me. Of course maybe that’s a little far off, but I suppose it could happen, right? I have to start somewhere. And I think I made a good choice by starting here.

10 thoughts on “A Firm Handshake

  1. Do you worry perhaps sometimes that by waiting to be noticed in order to do what you want puts you in the position of placing your dreams and goals in the hands of others? Taking charge and taking an active rather than passive role can be scary and daunting, but relying on others to make your life ambitions a reality could maybe mean those ambitions won’t come to fruition. Or maybe that things won’t happen in the way you want or that are best for you personally, which is also scary. Plowing through to make things go your way will make you stronger in the long run. (I hope I haven’t overstepped my bounds here! I’ve always been a huge advocate for paving my own way, as I hate being told what to do and figure that no one cares as much about me and my well being as I do! Lol!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do worry about waiting! Unfortunately, I just don’t know what else to do. Making this blog was a big step for me and hopefully, whether it’s just giving me confidence or some of my favorite written pieces, this will lead me a step in the right direction. I appreciate your input and advice! If you have any idea about how to really chase this aspiration of mine, I would be happy to know. 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m certainly no expert, but from what I see of other bloggers who’ve really made it they seem to have capitalized on social media. Are you posting links to your blog on Twitter and Instagram and Facebook and really publicizing your work? You could try following some bloggers and others who you admire, or even contact someone whose work you like and who seems to really know what they’re doing and are where you want to be to see if you can pick their brain about how to get there for yourself. No one would know better than they as to how they earned that success. Assuming, that is, that your aspiration is to be a well-followed blogger. Otherwise, whatever it is you wish to do, find someone who’s doing it and ask for a chat. People are always happy to share about themselves and their successes. You’re doing a great job!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

