Some New Reading Material

I would classify myself as a reader. I read often and I enjoy it. So, because of this, I have the tendency to buy a lot of books; books I know that I may never read and have the possibilty of taking up precious room on my bookshelf. But that’s okay.

Recently I have acquired quite a few books in my life.

1. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

I have heard only good things for this book, so consequently I have great expectations for it (hah). Plus the copy of this book was beautiful and hard to pass up for only $2!

2. Thirteen Moons by Charles Frazier

Sadly, I have not yet read Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier, but I know it’s supposed to be a good read. I actually hold two copies of it…the covers are just so beautiful. I really had to buy this book, I’ve been thinking about getting it for a little while now, and once I saw it for only $2, it was sold.

3. How to Read a Book by Mortimer J. Adler

“This is, in short, a book about reading in relation to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. I said it was a “light book.” I meant that it was much easier than the great and good books you must learn to read. I hope you find it so, and more, that as you learn to read, the heavier reading once put aside will cease to be burden some. You will enjoy learning. All books will become light in proportion as you find light in them.”

This is a short passage out of the preface to this novel, it’s safe to say that I’m excited to read it.

4. Me, Myself and Why by Jennifer Ouellette

I am extremely excited about this book. It’s about “searching for the science of self” and covers topics such as “genetics, neuroscience, and psychology,” so it was basically written for me.

5. The Runaway Brain by Christopher Wills

As you can tell by the title, this is another brain book. However, it is huge, so I doubt I will ever have the opportunity to read all of it, but I am excited none the less. Unlike Me, Myself, and Why this book is about “the evolution of human uniqueness.” It’s another “me” book.

6. The Power of Positive Thinking for Young People by Peale

I get stressed a lot. Really stressed some times. I figured this book would maybe be able to help remedy that. The chapters have titles such as “Trust Yourself,” Why Worry?,” and “Ten Ways to Solve Your Problems.” Besides, this book has the tendency to put really absurd pictures with more serious quotes…they’re really funny. In the least this book should lighten up my day with that!

7. Complete Poems of Robert Frost 1949

Who wouldn’t be excited for this book? I mean, it’s a book full of a ton of poems by no one other than Robert Frost! That sounds pretty good to me. I would be expecting some pretty amazing poetry by him to be posted on this blog soon.

2 thoughts on “Some New Reading Material

  1. Those brain books sound really interesting and I will add samples of them to my Kindle to check out! I love reading about that kind of stuff where you can learn and become more self-aware. But I love to read a lot anyway. I hope you don’t get too stressed out and are able to let loose once in a while! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

