Walking My Plant

“Think of yourself as a brand. You need to be remembered. What will they remember you for? What defines you? If you have it in you, do something that defines you. Invent something, develop a unique skill, get noticed for something — it creates a talking point.” -Chris Arnold

One thing I’ve been doing recently has been taking my plant (Mr. Plant) on a walk. This may sound odd, and it is quite strange, but that’s the fun of it.

I’ve made a makeshift leash for it, some string, and I tie it around the base of my plant’s pot and drag it down my driveway. Unfortunately, or maybe fortunately (I don’t know yet) no one has really seen me do it aside from my family. I definitely think it would be a head turner.

It’s quite fun and entertaining to do something out of the ordinary and deemed strange by society. After all, plants don’t really need walked, right? However, I’ve realized over the years that I just want to be known and recognized for something. There are many neighbors that live on my street that I’ve never really talked to or have had the pleasure of knowing. So, to them, I’m just the girl that lives on their street…if they even know that much about me. I figured that it would be better to be known as the girl who walks her plant and drags it down the driveway than to be known as nothing else.

I encourage all of you to do something out of the ordinary! Maybe walk down your street in your pajamas or stick nice complimentary notes in everyone’s mailboxes (I’ve actually done that before, hah) and just be known as something other than just the person that lives down the street.

Leave a Reply

