Review: Life of Pi

Overall Rating: 9.6

Sitting here, I hesitate to write a review for this novel. I know there is really no way to convey just how amazing it was. So, if you only read up until this point of the review, know that you must read this book.

This is one of the best books that I have ever read, unquestionably. I’m not a religious person, but this book almost makes me question that. Because, ultimately, you have to ask yourself which story you want to believe. Do you want to be an optimist and believe in the hope that something good will come? I almost think that if you believe in something badly enough, it will become true. At least that’s what this book makes makes me want to believe. Or, do you side with what you have always known and are familiar with? Are you afraid to believe in something you know cannot be true? That’s what this book makes you ask yourself. However, it asks it in the most subtle yet dramatic and nearly poetic way. It’s amazing how Yann Martel was able to pose this question.

After finishing this novel, I sat and I thought. I usually do this for a little while after finishing something, but with this book I really thought. I pondered about the brutality of reality and the hope for what comes next. I was left with a broken heart and a severed mind and a split view of what I have always known. This book not only poses something new, but it makes you question what you have always known. It also offers such a beautiful and heart-aching story that it’s difficult to put down and enter back into your water-less surroundings and less interesting story. I just finished this book a day or two ago, but I would have no problem with picking it up and reading each word again. So, once more, please do yourself a favor and read this book!

Similar writings: –

9 thoughts on “Review: Life of Pi

    1. Wow thank you so much! I wrote so many of these down to read. One of the ones that sounded the best to me was actually the book that you have read, would you recommend it?

      Like

  1. I would definitely recommend it. I wasn’t sure what to think about it at first, but then it really grabbed me. It’s a very touching story, written very well. It’s definitely one that makes you think. I loved it! Maybe you will too!

    Like

  2. And, speaking of book recommendations (sorry, I’m being very hoggy here with my comments!), have you ever read Paul Theroux? He’s a dark, sometimes heavy, but very real and candid writer who, in addition to writing interesting fiction, also writes about his worldly travels. He’s a very fascinating and complex person, and his stories are riveting and gritty.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

