“Never Again Would Birds’ Song Be the Same”

Today, I’m not in the mood to appreciate what I write, but rather what someone else has written. Well, maybe still a little what I write.

I want to share one of my favorite poems; hopefully you can enjoy it as much as I have. This poem is entitled “Never Again Would Birds’ Song Be the Same” and was written by Robert Frost.

“He would declare and could himself believe

That the birds there in all the garden round

From having heard the daylong voice of Eve

Had added to their own an oversound,

Her tone of meaning but without the words.

Admittedly an eloquence so soft

Could only have had an influence upon birds

When call or laughter carried it aloft.

Be that as it may, she was in their song.

Moreover her voice upon their voices crossed

Had now persisted in the woods so long

That probably it never would be lost.

Never again would birds’ song be the same.

And to do that to birds was why she came.”

2 thoughts on ““Never Again Would Birds’ Song Be the Same”

  1. I’m not really a poem person, but I loved this. Thank you for sharing. It’s truly beautiful. Is Robert Frost your favorite poet, or are there others whose work you admire?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love this poem! And to be completely honest, I don’t read poetry on a daily basis. I do find myself loving poems written by Frost, however. Hopefully I’ll be sharing some more of my favorite poems soon! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

