Why I Write

As I have mentioned in my post “Thank YOU,” I have grown up writing. Ever since I can remember, I was writing songs to perform to my mother by her bedside and writing unfortunate stories about the concept of bullying. As I started to put on a few more years and grow in pants sizes, I started to keep a journal. At first, these journals covered the topic of “what I did that day” instead of what I thought about those events. As I have always had an overactive imagination, I started to put it to good use. I started to write stories about wizards (believe it or not, I wrote an entire book on this topic and started a sequel). Now, a few years shy of a decade later, I am doing a lot of different things with my same passion for writing; I have written more stories with far more complexity, I have written in my journals about my feelings instead of my actions, and have even started this – my blog.

Why do I write?

This is a question that I really have to think about since I have no recollection of why, exactly, I ever started to. However, I do think I have an answer. Ultimately, I think writing is the best way I know how to express myself. I am nowhere near as developed in speaking as I am in the written word. Things just come out better when I don’t have to see the immediate reaction of the person in front of me and when I don’t have the pressure of getting it right the first time. Unlike speaking, I have the opportunity to reread, correct, or even delete. I don’t have that kind of privilege with speaking and maybe that scares me a little. I also have the ability to go into the written worlds that I have created when the reality of mine gets too tough. Or, rather, I can revisit moments of my own life that have meant something to me. When I’m feeling overwhelmed and down on my luck, I can visit a time in my life where that wasn’t the case and I can remember why it is that I keep going everyday.

All in all, I write both to remember and to forget. It’s what I turn to when I feel that I have nothing else and I struggle for the words to speak. I think I write because it is part of me and who I am, and for me, I think that’s the beauty of it. I never had to wait at the doorstep of writing, it’s just always been there.

One thought on “Why I Write

Leave a Reply

