If you could go back in time and change something, what would it be?

“Everything I’ve ever done, ever thought, ever experienced, and ever felt. has led me up to this moment in my life. And after accumulating and culminating it, all I can say is, ‘Ahhhhh!'” – Jarod Kintz

Last night I read my daily question marked for today’s date and, after pondering for a longer time than usual, I decided I would come back to the question. It is now midday and I still have not gone back to answer the question. I feel like this is a cliche question and maybe an even more cliche answer, but I almost think I’ve come to the conclusion that I wouldn’t really change anything.

As the above quote eloquently details, everything in my life, in your life, and in everyone’s lives, really, have led us to where we are now. And I like where I am now. I’m at an exciting part of my life with an even more exciting future and it would be hard to imagine myself much happier and better off. Every bad decision and mistake, every embarrassing memory that I wish I could forget, every time I’ve ever cried tears of sadness instead of joy, they’re all been worth it. People tend to ignore the good that arises out of every bad. When your favorite dog, that was really more like a best friend, died when you were younger, you learned the lesson of loss and how you can’t take moments and things for granted. When you got your first “bad” grade in school, you learned that maybe school isn’t as easy as you thought and that you actually have to work, and sometimes really work, to get the grade that you want. Things in life don’t always come easy and maybe things aren’t always as fair as you would want them to be, but you have learned all of these things through the bad memories and embarrassing moments that you now tell as stories. I don’t know about you, but I definitely think one bad grade has been worth everything that I’ve learned from it.

So, if I could go back in time and change something, I’m not so sure I’d change anything. I’m happy where I am, and if a few bad things had to happen along the way, then I’m glad they did.

Now I ask you the question: what would you change?

2 thoughts on “If you could go back in time and change something, what would it be?

  1. You’re totally right about not wanting to change anything. I wouldn’t either! Besides, dwelling on what we would want to change about the past robs us of thinking – and doing what we need to do – about the future! And we can’t go back anyway! No regrets!! Love this post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

