Trapped

“The greatest weapon against stress is our ability to choose one thought over another.” – William James

Stress is something I deal with on a daily basis – no matter the situation I will find something to stress about. At this point in life, I’ve managed to really develop about a total of zero effective coping mechanisms; I tend to put it off, pretend it doesn’t exist, complain about it, write To-Do lists…none of which really accomplish anything.

So, my question for those of you prone to stress and anxiety like me: is it really worth it? Is the amount of stress and weight we place on things really representative of their importance? Is one assignment really worth days of stress when our days are numbered? There exists an entire world beyond our own, undiscovered, and we choose to focus in on one tiny, really quite minuscule assignment that, in the grand schemes of things, really has no effect on or lives. However, the things that can really quite small can actually be the big things. The things that matter. A second long glance in the hallway can lead you to find your best friend – something that I would deem priceless. Now that’s something to think about.

This all leads me to ask my second question: can we help it? It definitely helps to ruminate about the ginormous undiscovered and about, how sometimes, the seemingly important aren’t actually that important after all. However, I still find myself trapped in my own fears and stresses on a daily basis, so is this an unsolvable problem or just a nightmare?

It’s ironic an unfortunate how, in all this free space, I’m really only trapped by myself.

Leave a Reply

