The Giant Unknown at Our Disposal

“Once a year, go someplace you’ve never been before.” – Dalai Lama

A few days ago, in spite of the loads of other so-called “more productive” things to do, I decided to hang up a map above my bed. I have always loved the idea of travel, as many have, and I have wanted a representation of this in my room. Although I have other photos and representations of travel throughout my room, I wanted something that idealized every place of travel. Is there a better way to do this than a world map strung above your bed? I think not.

As I encountered the more perilous task of hanging this poster above my bed than expected, I realized that the world is so BIG! The continent I live on, although not necessarily small, definitely is not the largest. In fact, one can barely even notice that the tiny little dot marked “Columbus” even exists. However, to me this city can seem so large; I’ve lived here all of my life (which is a shorter span of time than I would maybe like to admit) and I am still discovering places that i never even knew existed.  That has to say something. If I can get lost in a single city that I’ve lived in all my life, is it even possible to comprehend the giant unknown at our disposal? Although I cannot yet answer this question as well as I would like, I do know that it’s possible to start this giant comprehension. As I gaze at this map strung above my head, I notice the too few pins standing for the places that I have visited. I am starting to comprehend that there is more than this city I have grown up in – there is so much more.

4 thoughts on “The Giant Unknown at Our Disposal

Leave a Reply

